Spring has sprung.

Finally some decent light has arrived to create longer painting days and the motivation to paint once again returns after a long winter.

Included in this post are a couple of new still lifes, along with a some new smaller versions of older paintings.  These were made partly because I wasn’t coming up with many fresh ideas at the beginning of the year (and I knew I had to do ‘something’!), but also because, as with many painters I’m sure, your own personal style and ability develops, and I wanted to try out some technical comparisons, AND a new style of framing that seems to be working well.  I sold at the recent Harrogate Art Fair, which was personally encouraging, and have recently started to expand the selection of galleries exhibiting my work.  Which reminds me, there are still a handful of galleries that advertise myself as one of their artists, when I no longer show with them.  I have no problem with that, except it looks like I am spread more thinly than I actually am.  Please feel free to ask me direct if you are visiting a gallery  that includes me on their website and want to know if I have work there.

Lemon Squash - oilCarica Maridol  21 x 41cm

Small Lemon Juice painting - 18 x 24cm

Small Lemon Juice painting – 18 x 24cm

'Top of the Table' - small painting given as surprise gift to winner of memorial snooker competition generously held in memory of my father.

‘Top of the Table’ – small painting given as surprise gift to winner of memorial snooker competition generously held in memory of my father.

Only 10cms high, this is part of a new series of small paintings, partly to try out new framing.

Only 10cms high, this is part of a new series of small paintings, partly to try out new framing.

Leave a Reply

